Deakin is one of the suburbs of the Canberra, the capital city of Australia. The suburb includes the residence of the Australian Prime Minister, the Lodge, and the Royal Australian Mint.

Population and Postcode

The estimated population in Deakin as of 2011 census was 2,783 and the post code of this region is 2600. The suburb was established in the year 1928 and gazetted in the same year.

Suburbs surrounded by Deakin

The land area of Deakin covers only 3,58 km2. The suburbs which are surrounded by Deakin are Stromlo Forest to the north-west, Curtin to the west, Yarralumla to the north Garran to the south, Forrest to the east, Hughes to the south-west, Capital Hill to the north-east and Red Hill to the south-east.

Suburb Amenities

The suburb contains a local shopping centre, IGA supermarket, service station, newsagent, chemist and restaurants. The Deakin Health shop has begun to control the local Fitness First facility, which has been rebadged recently. In addition, The Canberra Deakin Soccer Club is located proximity to the suburb.


The residents of the Deakin prefer the following educational institutions: Forrest Primary, Yarralumla Primary, Deakin High School or Telopea Park Schol and Narrabundah College.